Skip to product information
1 of 1

We Jazz Records

Black Diamond - Furniture of the Mind Rearranging (Vinyl LP) PRE-ORDER

Black Diamond - Furniture of the Mind Rearranging (Vinyl LP) PRE-ORDER

Regular price £22.95 GBP
Regular price Sale price £22.95 GBP
Sale Sold out but get in touch
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected Release Date:  02 August 2024 - This Pre-order will be shipped on or just before this date. Release dates are subject to alteration.

Chicago's Black Diamond debuts on We Jazz Records with their new album Furniture Of the Mind Rearranging on 26th July. Co-led by Artie Black and Hunter Diamond (composers, saxophones, and other woodwinds), Black Diamond appears in both quartet and duo formations. The first three album sides present the quartet, complete with long standing band members Matt Ulery (double bass) and Neil Hemphill (drums), under the heading Furniture Of the Mind. The remaining two tracks on side D fall under the title The Mind Rearranging, with Black and Diamond presenting a meditative duo encounter of two tenor saxophones. 

Furniture Of the Mind Rearranging is an assemblage of new compositions and improvisations that develop the band's established sound and exemplify the way in which this band folds into the Chicago creative music community. The quartet traverses their familiar aesthetic ranges between driving off-kilter groove, plaintive minimalism, and intimate chamber music, with the everpresent spirit of small-group jazz and a hovering influence of Chicago’s improvised music culture. And while this collection represents three previous 

albums and more than a decade of close kinship and artistic evolution between co-leaders Black and Diamond, neither are too precious about any one element on the album. This is very simply the latest work in what continues to be an expanding body work founded on a guiding principle: cultivation without expectation.

The four sides with two formations flow together in a natural way, forming an idiosyncratic musical entity that is sure to grow with each new spin on the turntable.


1.   Carrying The Stick
2.   Dovetail
3.   Seen
4.   Zoetic
5.   Jayber Crow
6.   Mantis
7.   Say To Yourself
8.   Under The Garden
9.   Furniture of the Mind
10.  Lost Motion
11.  Catlett
12.  Mycelium
13.  Motor Neurons



    Delivery and Returns



    Orders over £60 are free for UK delivery - Royal Mail 2nd Class Tracked

    Orders under £60 are £4.50 for UK delivery - Royal Mail Tracked 48

    We now ship internationally! Please add the items to your cart to see the shipping costs for the country you require. 


    Free UK delivery on all CDs - Royal Mail 2nd Class

    Returns Policy

    The Jazz Vault Ltd accepts returns within 14 days if products are not used, changed, washed or otherwise manipulated. Products need to be returned in original packaging.

    No products may be returned to The Jazz Vault without the prior written consent of The Jazz Vault and are subject to a return charge.

    View full details