Skip to product information
1 of 1


Miles Davis – A Tribute To Jack Johnson (Vinyl LP)

Miles Davis – A Tribute To Jack Johnson (Vinyl LP)

Regular price £18.95 GBP
Regular price Sale price £18.95 GBP
Sale Sold out but get in touch
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Columbia – 19075950871, Legacy – 19075950871

  • Artwork  Paul Davis (9)
  • Bass [Fender]  Michael Henderson
  • Drums  Bill Cobham*
  • Engineer  Arthur Kendy
  • Guitar  John McLaughlin
  • Keyboards  Herbie Hancock
  • Photography By  David Gahr
  • Producer  Teo Macero
  • Saxophone  Steve Grossman
  • Trumpet, Liner Notes  Miles Davis

Track Listing

1. Right Off

2. Yesternow

A Tribute to Jack Johnson was originally conceived as the soundtrack for a documentary on the life of the first african american heavyweight boxing champion, but the album stands on its own as one of the most brilliant, compelling fusion recordings ever made. This is due in large part to the increasing influence of rock and funk on miles's aesthetic, to the superb musicians (including Davis himself - who turns in some stunningly vigorous solos), and in part to the production skills of Teo Macero, who collaged the album together from numerous jam sessions into two lengthy, majestic tracks. The infectious boogaloo groove of Right Off has John Mclaughlin's crunching, wah-wah-driven power chords dancing fervently around the relentless backbeat of fender bassist Michael Henderson and drummer Billy Cobham. Gone are the trappings of bebop harmonies and modern jazz rhythms, save for Davis's dramatic solo, with its long, linear melodies and nasty blues inflections. The haunting, surreal Yesternow is an abstract update of the classic Miles / Gil Evans mood piece. The groove accrues momentum in a dreamy, backwards manner, keying off Henderson's hypnotic modal patterns and Mclaughlin's speech-like figures, culminating in an atonal distortion solo by free jazz pioneer Sonny Sharrock. In all, Jack Johnson packs a punch like nothing else in the trumpeter's canon, and continues to grow in stature and influence decades after its release.


Delivery and Returns



Orders over £60 are free for UK delivery - Royal Mail 2nd Class Tracked

Orders under £60 are £4.50 for UK delivery - Royal Mail Tracked 48

We now ship internationally! Please add the items to your cart to see the shipping costs for the country you require. 


Free UK delivery on all CDs - Royal Mail 2nd Class

Returns Policy

The Jazz Vault Ltd accepts returns within 14 days if products are not used, changed, washed or otherwise manipulated. Products need to be returned in original packaging.

No products may be returned to The Jazz Vault without the prior written consent of The Jazz Vault and are subject to a return charge.

View full details